Michael Jackson – Chicago (produced by Timbaland)

Why write about music if you can’t share your genuine thoughts? In my honest opinion,the previous Michael Jackson posthumous album ‘Michael’ was a sub par effort from those involved. I feel that it lacked the Michael Jackson feel which was always going to be a challenge to recreate giving that MJ was not just a singer, but a producer and artist of the finest form.

HOWEVER .. I am extremely excited for the upcoming posthumous effort ‘Xscape’ and the latest release ‘Chicago’ produced by Timbaland as well as Justin Timberlake duet ‘Love Never Felt So Good’ have me absolutely gassed!

The vocals for Chicago were reportedly retrieved from his studio work during the ‘Invincible’ era which was his last album, in 2001. This doesn’t surprise me as the low register vocal delivery in the beginning of the song reminds me of ‘You Rock My World’ with the chorus reminding me somewhat of ‘Invincible, Unbreakable and Heartbreaker’.

Invincible was the first album I was given at 9 years of age (true story) and since then I have been waiting for another solid MJ effort. With the likes of Mary J Blige, D’Angelo and Questlove tipped to be featured on the album, I am sure I won’t be disappointed!

 

Listen to the song below via Nah Right

http://nahright.com/news/2014/05/05/michael-jackson-chicago-prod-by-timbaland/

Leave a comment